Message From The Sheriff
Emergency: 911
660-747-6469 (24 Hours)
660-747-TIPS (8477)
(Crime Tips)
278 SW 871
Centerview, Missouri 64019
Administrative Office Hours:
M-F 8am - 4pm

The investigations division of the Johnson County Sheriff’s office is comprised of three full time detectives that are under the direct supervision of Chief Deputy Major Hugh Fowler.

The personnel assigned to this division have received specialized training in three major areas of criminal investigations and forensic science.  These include,

Crimes Against Persons:  Assault, Rape, Homicide, Sexual Assault, Domestic Assault, Armed Robbery, Kidnapping, Crimes Against Children, Weapons Offenses, Hate Crimes, Felonious Restraint, False Imprisonment, Harassment.

Property Crimes:  Burglary, Stealing, Tampering, Property Damage, Vandalism, Arson, Receiving Stolen Property, Forgery, Embezzlement, Fraud, Bad Checks.

Specialized Investigations:

Rural Missouri Major Case Squad: The Major Case Squad was first formed in June of 1971.  The squad consists of detectives from nine counties in west central Missouri.  These detectives must undergo specialized training in the area of homicide investigations prior to becoming active members of the Major Case Squad.  The squad is convened to investigate homicides and other major crimes. Each Johnson County Sheriff’s Office detective is a member of the Major Case Squad.  The Johnson County Sheriff’s Office is a charter member of the Rural Missouri Major Case Squad.

Western Missouri Cyber Crimes Task Force: The WMCCTF was first formed in 1998 in response to the alarming number of child predators and child pornographers that use computers and the internet to seek out and sexually assault and abuse children.  

These are just a few of the areas of criminal investigations that detectives assigned to the Investigations Division of the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office are trained.

If you would make and anonymous tip to report any type of criminal activities in the Johnson County and surrounding areas, please call the TIPS HOTLINE AT 660-747-TIPS (8477)

The members assigned to the Investigations Division are:


Lt. Andrew Gobber     Unit Supervisor

Investigator Sergeant Buck Edwards

Investigator Sergeant Michael Coleman

Press Releases